FDU Digital Archives

Announcements, Databases, Faculty  Tagged , , , , Comments Off

The new FDU Digital Archives includes historical photographs of FDU, photographs of the College at Florham during its days as the Twombly estate, maps, documents, Masters theses, and podcasts from the FDU Library Archives.

View the digital archives at:
http://www.fdu.edu/digitallibrary

More items will be added to the digital archives as projects are completed. We welcome suggestions for materials you would like to see digitized, and to act as a repository for FDU faculty and staff wishing to make their work available to the community. Please send inquiries and comments about the digital archives to Brigid Burke, Technical Services and Digital Projects Librarian, at bburke@fdu.edu.
more….

New Database Added to FDU Online Library

Announcements, Databases  Tagged , , Comments Off

The Library is pleased to announce the addition of the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Sciences and Engineering database.

Psychology E-books Added

Databases, ebooks Comments Off

Several references works in psychology were recently added to the FDU Library’s e-book collection:

Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression

Dictionary of Forensic Psychology

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain

Encyclopedia of the Human Genome

These e-books can be accessed either through the Library catalog, or through the “Credo Reference” database on the FDU Online Library page. Remote access is possible with your FDU Webmail ID and password.

New Resources Added to FDU Online Library

Announcements, Books, Databases, Films  Tagged Comments Off

In recent months, seven new databases and an encyclopedia have been added to the FDU Online Library. They can easily be found at FDU Online Library: A-Z, and are also available in the appropriate subject categories on the main FDU Online Library webpage. These new additions are:

AtoZ Maps Online, from World Trade Press: a comprehensive database of over 4,000 world, continent, country, and state maps, including political, physical, population, precipitation, climate and other maps.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text, from EBSCO: the world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship, and 17 allied health disciplines. This full-text upgrade supplants our previous CINAHL database.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health: a 5-volume encyclopedia available online on the “Gale Virtual Reference Library” platform, with over 850 alphabetical entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field.

Praeger Security International Online, from Greenwood Publishing Group: an interdisciplinary database covering international security, including defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, twentieth century military history, and terrorism.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text, from EBSCO: the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text journals in the fields of sports and sports medicine, this database includes over 490 full-text journals, with coverage dating back to 1985.

U.S. Government Online, from Facts On File: a reference site devoted to the U.S. government, offering overview essays, articles from encyclopedias and other reference works, primary source documents, current news articles, tables, charts, and maps, images and videos, a dictionary, and more.

Westlaw Campus Research, from Thomson West: a comprehensive collection of news, business, and legal resources, this massive database includes newspapers; magazines; trade journals; SEC filings; Hoover’s company records; newswire and broadcast transcripts; law reviews and journals; American Law Reports; United States Code Annotated; all federal and state court cases; state statutes and regulations; Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; and more.

World Higher Education Database Online, from Palgrave Macmillan: the most comprehensive reference on higher education worldwide, with information on some 17,000 higher education institutions in 183 countries and a description of each country’s education system.

All these resources are accessible by current FDU students, faculty, and staff both on and off campus.

Free Swine Flu Information Available Online

Databases  Tagged , Comments Off

Due to the recent global outbreak of Swine Influenza, EBSCO Publishing and the DynaMed Editors have made DynaMed’s information about Swine Influenza free to health care providers and institutions throughout the world. The DynaMed topic on Swine Influenza consolidates information from multiple sources for health care providers to stay current with recommendations for monitoring, diagnosing, and treating patients with flu-like illnesses during this outbreak. DynaMed Editors will continue to monitor information and update this topic as needed throughout this global crisis. Please click on the following link for information regarding Swine Influenza:

http://www.ebscohost.com/dynamed/swineflu/.

Library Adds Gartner Resources to the Online Library

Announcements, Databases  Tagged , Comments Off

Faculty, staff and students now have FREE access to Gartner for technology related decisions.

Your FREE Access Provides:

Faculty is empowered with current trends in information technology allowing them to bring real world complex issues into the classroom.

Staff is given information on how to improve infrastructure, validate technology decisions, analyze trends in the industry and understand best practices.

Students are provided with insight on the current trends in technology, information technology management, business issues, organizations, strategy as well as a global perspective on the IT industry.

You can now access Gartner through the FDU Online Library (http://librarydb.fdu.edu/onlinelibrary.html), where its link will be found in the “Business, Economics & Management” and “Science, Mathematics & Technology” database categories, or by going directly to http://gartneraccess.fdu.edu/gartner.

Members of the Fairleigh Dickinson University community are required to login with their FDU Webmail username and password.

SAGE Journals Online

Announcements, Databases  Tagged , , , Comments Off

SAGE Journals Online

The FDU Online Library now includes a trial subscription to SAGE Premier Journals Online. The trial, which runs until at least December 31, 2008, includes over 480 full-text journals in several disciplines including psychology, criminology, education and management.

Please try out the new database and let us know what you think.

New eReference Titles: Food, Engineering and more…

Databases  Tagged Comments Off

Four new e-reference titles have been added to our online catalog for the following new titles from CredoReference:

  • Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms A-Z
  • Manufacturing Engineering Handbook
  • Rivers of North America
  • Time Save Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice

To view all Credo Reference titles in the library catalog click here. These titles may also be found in the FDU Online Library’s CredoReference database.

Changes in the FDU Online Library

Databases  Tagged , , Comments Off

From our Electronic Resources Librarian:

Over the summer and through today, many additions, deletions, and upgrades of databases have occurred in the FDU Online Library. Here’s a summary:

New Databases:

IBISWorld
International Encyclopedia of Communication
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poors)
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Pop Culture Universe
—Changed from trial to subscribed status.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Women Writers Online Read the rest of this entry »

NJKI Resources: September 2008 Update

Announcements, Databases  Tagged , , Comments Off

The VALE member libraries, including Fairleigh Dickinson University Library, are pleased that the New Jersey State Library’s (NJSL) commitment to the New Jersey Knowledge Initiative (NJKI) remains strong and continues to include an active role for New Jersey’s academic libraries.  For more information on the current status of NJKI please refer to the documentation posted at the VALE website — http://valenj.org/.


Entries RSS Comments RSS Log in

Protected by AkismetBlog with WordPress