Giovatto Library Blog has Moved!!!!

Announcements, Awards, Books, Databases, ebooks, Events, Exhibits, Faculty, FDU Press, Films, Funding, General, hours, Lecture, Mobile Computing, Monninger Center, RSS, Sites We Like, Social Networking, Training, Uncategorized, Web Tools  Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Comments Off

http://giovatto.blog.fdu.edu

Library Basics @Giovatto Library

Books, Databases, Training, Web Tools Comments Off

Library Basics
An Introduction to Academic Library Research

Wednesday, September 3rd, @ 10:00 AM — Pat
Thursday, September 4th, @ 12 noon — Paul
Friday, September 5th, @ 11:00 AM — Kathy
Monday, September 8th, @ 8:00 PM – Sian
Tuesday, September 9th, @ 6:00 PM – Dirk
Thursday, September 11th, @ 7:00 PM — Mike

Students will meet the librarian at the reference desk. Session will include a brief walk-through/tour of the Library followed by an orientation to online Library research in the Library Instruction Room.

FDU students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of the Library welcome.

Giovatto News This Week 7.23.2014

Books, Databases, Events, General, hours, Social Networking, Uncategorized, Web Tools  Tagged , , , Comments Off

 

 

 

Library News This Week – Summer Express Edition

July 21st, 2014

The air-conditioned Library is open all summer long – evenings and weekends, too!

Closed Fridays – June 13th, 20th, 27th; July 4th, 11th, 18th, and 25th; August 1st

For the very latest news and information, check our Facebook page @ https://www.facebook.com/Giovattolibrary

Faculty and Staff – Remember!  “Special Delivery” of Library materials is available to you via intercampus mail to your Metropolitan Campus office. Stay cool!

The Library Café is open all summer, during regular Library hours

ATM available in the Library Café

Chess, Scrabble, and Jeopardy – Games available at lunchtime, in the evening, and on request in the Ruth Schwartz Reading Room

Giovatto Library Reader’s Advisory Service

If you would like to develop a plan for independent self-directed learning during the summer months, please contact the reference librarians for assistance.  We will be happy to help you to find the best reading and research materials for your needs.

Kathy’s Picks

Book News:  ‘Big 5’ Publishers Absent from Amazon’s New E-Book Service @ http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/21/333549534/book-news-big-5-publishers-absent-from-amazon-s-new-e-book-service

Hillary Clinton draws 1,200 to book signing in Ridgewood @ http://www.northjersey.com/news/hillary-clinton-draws-1-200-to-book-signing-in-ridgewood-1.1053448

JK Rowling says crime thriller series will run longer than Harry Potter @ http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jul/19/jk-rowling-crime-thriller-series-longer-harry-potter

On the Books: ‘New Yorker’ archives available for free online, for now @ http://shelf-life.ew.com/2014/07/21/on-the-books-the-new-yorkers-archives-are-available-for-free-online-for-now/

The Great Courses @ Giovatto Library – The summer break is always a wonderful time to enjoy a “Great Course.”  A complete list of the Great Courses @ Giovatto Library is available @ http://view.fdu.edu/default.aspx?id=10005

The Giovatto Library collection includes many of “The Great Courses” on DVD and/or CD!

 

For Alumni Only – Welcome May 2014 Graduates!

FDU Alumni Library Privileges -- As an FDU Alumnus/a, you are entitled to lifetime Library privileges.  Borrow books, magazines, DVDs, language CDs, and more from the Library.  Attend Library events and programs.  Use Library spaces.

To get your Library card, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations @ fdualumni@fdu.edu or at 201-692-7013.

If you would like more involvement with the Library, consider joining the Giovatto Library Alumni Advisory Board.

New Books This Week

The Art of Freedom:  Teaching the Humanities to the Poor

Burning Books

Coffee Obsession

Genesis:  Truman, American Jews, and the Origins of the Arab/Israeli Conflict

Happy City:  Transforming Our Lives through Urban Design

Head First EJB

Head First JavaScript Programming

The Holy Reich:  Nazi Conceptions of Christianity 191901945

Mindless:  Why Smarter Machines Are Making Dumber Humans

Neal-Schuman Library Technology Companion

Revolutionary Ideas:  An Intellectual History of the French Revolution from the Rights of Many to Robespierre

Risk Savvy:  How to Make Good Decisions

The Soft Edge:  Where Great Companies Find lasting Success

Talk like TED:  The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of the World’s Top Minds

Venice:  History of the Floating City

Why Does the World Exist?

Wisdom:  From Philosophy to Neuroscience

A World without Jews:  The Nazi Imagination from Persecution to Genocide

New DVDs This Week

All Is Lost

Giovatto Library Summer Hours 2014

Summer Hours May 21st – August 22nd

Monday – Thursday – 8:00 AM – 10:00 PM

Friday – 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Sa%#$!$ay – 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Sunday – 1:00 – 5:00 PM

Closed Fridays – June 13th, 20st, 27th; July 4th, 11th, 18th, and 25th; August 1st

Regular Fall Semester Hours begin Sa%#$!$ay, August 23rd

 

Closed September 1st in observance of Labor Day

Chat with a Giovatto librarian @ http://library.fdu.edu/askusmetro.html

Email a Giovatto librarian @ http://view.fdu.edu/default.aspx?id=1849

Be sure to select “Giovatto Library, Metropolitan Campus”

FDU Online Library Available 24/7 365 @ http://view.fdu.edu/default.aspx?id=587

 

 

ks

07-21-14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SciFinder: It’s Whats New

Databases Comments Off

SciFinder logo

SciFinder from CAS is now available on the FDU Online Library.

For all your chemistry research needs.

New Databases in Online Library

Databases Comments Off

Several new online databases have been added to the FDU Online Library in the areas of law, education, nursing & allied health, and multi-disciplinary studies.

Many thanks to the Paralegal Department for providing access to WestlawNext. This database is a comprehensive resource for legal research, business information, and news. It provides access to federal and state case law; statutes; regulations; administrative codes; European Union information; law reviews and journals; American Law Reports, and the American Jurisprudence 2d legal encyclopedia.

NJ State Library logo

 

Thanks also to the New Jersey State Library for providing access to several    new databases including:

Biograpahy Collection Complete

Gale LegalForms

MasterFILE Elite (multi-disciplinary)

Medline Plus

Newspaper Source Plus

Nursing & Allied Health Collection

Points of View Reference Center (multi-disciplinary)

Teacher Reference Center

All of these resources are now available on the FDU Online Library.

Additional resources provided by the New Jersey State Library can also be found on the JerseyClicks site. You may  need your library barcode to access some of these resources.

 

Subject Guides

Books, Databases, ebooks, Web Tools  Tagged , , , , Comments Off
“Subject Guides”…another available online resource.  Created for you by the College at Florham Librarians, these guides offer research assistance and useful resources.
 
Available guides:
  1. Mobile Apps, Websites, Widgets & Tools
  2. Paralegal Guide
  3. Video and Streaming Video Collections
  4. Digital Archive Resources

Take a look!   http://fdu.libguides.com/

JSTOR: free pre-1923 content

Announcements, Databases  Tagged , , Comments Off

JSTOR logo JSTOR announced in early September that is it “making journal content on JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere, freely available to the public for reading and downloading. This includes nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals, representing approximately 6% of the total content on JSTOR.”
View the full announcement from JSTOR.

Giovatto Library Research Clinics

Announcements, Databases, General, Training Comments Off

If you have a research paper, but don’t know what do, FDU librarians are here to help!

Tuesdays at noon @ Giovatto Library

October 11 – Library Basics – Pat (Starts at 12:30)

October 18 – Science Research Clinic — Mitch

October 25 – Nursing Research Clinic — Kathy

November 1 – Literature and Humanities Research Clinic — Paul

November 8 – History and Political Science Research Clinic — Dirk

November 15 – Communications and Technology Research Clinic – Mike

November 22 – THANKSGIVING WEEK/NO CLINIC

November 29 – Endnotes Clinic – Dirk, Paul, and Mike

 

Meet your Librarian @ the Reference Desk!

For further information, call ext. 2278 or email stein@fdu.edu

New E-Resources Added

Databases  Tagged , Comments Off

Several new titles have been added to the Credo Reference database on the FDU Online Library in the areas of education, history, nursing, philosophy and political science, among others.

New titles include:

The Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Cambridge Introduction to Philosophy: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts
Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social and Military History
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor and Politics
The Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization
A History of Feminist Literary Criticism
A History of South African Literature
Key Concepts in Education
Key Concepts in Governance
Key Concepts in Nursing
Key Concepts in Social Research
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia

New Resources Added to the FDU Online Library

Databases  Tagged , , , Comments Off

Entries for a new encyclopedia and a new replacement database were recently added to the FDU Online Library.

The new encyclopedia is a 2-volume work, The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (2010), whose entry  appears in the Nursing, Medicine & Allied Health Sciences subject category. This encyclopedia belongs to the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

The replacement database is Facts On File’s The World Almanac for Kids Online, which the publisher has scheduled to replace its Curriculum Resource Center: Junior Edition. The new database is described as follows:

This brand-new reference database expands on the contents of the best-selling The World Almanac® for Kids print edition, along with other award-winning reference books from World Almanac® and Facts On File, to provide engaging, fun material that complements the curriculum.

Features:

  • Extensive articles on animals, careers, countries of the world, famous people, space, and much more
  • Full-color images, maps, and flags
  • Search Assist technology and kid-friendly search results
  • Dynamic home page with daily features
  • Dynamic citations
  • And much more!

The entry for this new database is  located in the Social Sciences & Education subject category.


Entries RSS Comments RSS Log in

Protected by AkismetBlog with WordPress